Small Business Saturday

I am not your typical Black Friday shopper. I do not enjoy big crowds, I really hate standing in long lines with strangers, and I definitely don’t like spending my day off NOT relaxing.

Needless to say, I will not be participating in the shopping festivities next Friday (I will, however, take advantage of some online Black Friday deals. Just so we are clear, I definitely don’t condemn Black Friday shopping, it’s just not my cup of tea).

I will, however, be supporting locals businesses here in Columbus on Small Business Saturday, which is next Saturday, November 26th.

I don’t want to spoil the surprise for my family and friends who will be receiving the gifts I purchase next Saturday, but I do want to shine a spotlight on the stores that I will be patronizing.

Never Grow Up Boutique- Grove City
I have one niece and three nephews, so needless to say, I will be buying lots of fun toys and cute clothes.

The store that caught my eye this season just opened recently, and is not far from my workplace.

Never Grow Up Boutique is located in downtown Grove City, and they boast products that are eco-friendly and chemical free, along with a huge selection of cloth diapers.
I have my eye on some of their books, puzzles, stuffed animals, and kid-friendly nail polish.

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-3-28-09-pm

Cub Shrub- Shorth North

Along with Never Grow Up Boutique, I will be making some more purchases for the little ones in my life at Cub Shrub in the Short North.

Cub Shrub, a local business started by the same people who own Tiger Tree, offers lots of beautifully crafted toys and children’s clothes.

I’m looking forward to purchasing some of their unique stuffed animals and adorable clothing that will allow my niece and nephews to let their inner hipster shine.

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-7-13-28-pmscreen-shot-2016-11-20-at-7-14-19-pm

The Book Loft- German Village
It’s no secret that one of the best local, independent bookstores in Columbus is The Book Loft of German Village.
I’m excited to spend next Saturday afternoon perusing their shelves, which just so happens to be on of my favorite things to do anyways. The only issue will be to refrain buying myself anything!

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-4-30-56-pm

The Gemma Shop-Online & Pop-up

The Gemma Shop is a small boutique women’s online clothing store that also has a local presence. Started by a Columbus local, The Gemma Shop will often “pop up” in other storefronts around town.

Their current pop-up location is in the Worthington Mall, and they’ll be open on Saturday from 9AM to 8PM.

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-7-18-26-pm

FrontRunner Columbus-Lane Ave

Front Runner on Lane has always been my go-to store for running gear. There are several runners in my family, so I’ll definitely be hitting up Front Runner for cold-weather running gear, running socks, and gift cards.

Red Giraffe Designs-Short North

Red Giraffe Designs in the Short North is an adorable jewelry studio and boutique. They also have an Etsy shop here.

Their collection features a lot of hammered metals and gold and brass pieces with modern, clean lines. I’m particularly fond of their Ohio charm necklace and vintage cuffs.

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-7-20-49-pm

Daisy Mae Designs-Etsy

Daisy Mae Designs is an Etsy shop run by Columbus natives. They sell handmade jewelry and home accessories that feature vintage map charms.

I love their bottle openers and bangles, and I’ll definitely be ordering some on Small Business Saturday!

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-6-16-19-pmscreen-shot-2016-11-20-at-6-15-33-pm

State & Third-Downtown

State & Third is a boutique in downtown Columbus, located in The Shops at Capitol Square. They feature both U.S. and local  vendors of home decor, clothing, jewelry, and tchotchkes.

I’m looking forward to purchasing some of their Ohio mugs from Hillbippie Clay Co and their leather goods from Open Hand Leather Goods.

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 7.24.02 PM.jpg

 

….

Those are just a few of the places I will be visiting on Small Business Saturday. What are your favorite small business in Columbus? Leave them in the comments below!

Don’t forget to subscribe by scrolling to the bottom of the page and entering your e-mail address.

 

Leave a Reply

